The Art of Patience

So I have been a terrible blogger. I haven’t posted anything since my birthday. To be fair I have been so busy that I couldn’t find the time. I have tonnes of recipes and pictures backed up and I just could not find the time to sit down and write them.

In between my last post and now, Paul and I have celebrated our first marriage anniversary, I started my company, Paul got promoted and we literally spent march in and out of the house and in airports without seeing each other.

Anyway the pace is slowing down, so I am back to my fraussie blog.

And to start I prepared a little medley of this term’s pottery projects that I have made:

Slide1

I am experimenting more and more with the glaze and the wheel. I enjoy the wheel so much. A lot of people give up really quickly with the wheel, because centering your clay can be so tricky. But I enjoy it so much. Learning how to do a lid this term was challenging, but I love the result. This little herbs or salt dish is lovely and is just missing a spoon to make it perfect. I am the most impatient woman in world, but for some reason once I’m at my pottery workshop I have all the patience in the world and 3h seems to go in 5m.

The texture created on the white bowl looks really cool for something done with a paint brush and a lot of patience. It took me forever but I love the finish product.

Slide2

I love this big white and blue bowl. The only problem is that it’s massive!!! I need to start doing giant salad or pasta and invite an army of friends to eat them. The texture on the bowl is very cool too. I used a stamp on the clay then filled the impression with colour, scraped it away so the colour will only stay where the stamp impression was. It was time consuming, but the result is lovely.

I used quite a few stamps this term, playing on texture and colour. I use the 2 other stamp example to put under hot plates at the table. I use the same technique as the bowl, they are fairly simple but I like them.

The blue bowl is very “organic”. It’sa rolled slab used on a casted mold . I used a tea towel to transfer it and the slab took the texture of the tea towel fabric and it also created wrinkles. I liked it and decided to leave it as it was, which explain the very uneven edge and the rough look.

Slide1

This little bowl was a challenge because it was glazed inside and outside. Again, more experiment on the stamp/colour technique. I really enjoy this with the oatmeal glaze, it give it an old vintage look. The onion jam is one of the recipes that will be coming up soonish on the blog (I can tell you it was soooo yummy).

2 thoughts on “The Art of Patience

Leave a comment